Department Representatives 2014 – 2015

by Faculty Association | Filed under December 2014.

Each department (and in the case of non-departmentalized Faculties, each Faculty) has the opportunity to appoint an individual to be a Faculty Association Department Representative. The role of the Department Representative is as liaison between the Faculty Association Board of Directors and the department or Faculty.

In order to maintain effective communication, both from and to members, the Association has established regular Department Representative meetings. Through these meetings, discussion can take place on the current issues facing the Association, its members, and the University community.

The Association encourages Department Representatives to be diligent in gathering and relaying information in both directions. Department Representatives communicate their academic colleagues’ views to the Association, and reciprocally inform academic staff in their area of the Board of Directors’ priorities, positions and activities. The Department Representatives are encouraged to attend the scheduled meetings whenever possible.

After each meeting, Department Representatives are urged to provide a summary to their colleagues by email. To facilitate this, the Association produces a Bulletin which includes the main points discussed at the meeting. The Bulletins are also posted on the Faculty Association’s website. Department Representatives can of course provide and solicit feedback in whatever form best fits their area.

Academic staff are encouraged to send their comments or feedback to their Department Representative or to forward it directly to the Faculty Association office.  Department Representatives are asked throughout the year to gather input from their colleagues and provide it to the Association.

Department Representatives are often approached by members of their departments or units with questions or problems in relation to academic staff matters and asked for advice. Since answers to many such questions and problems have complexities, ramifications, and implications legal and otherwise of which the Department Representative may not be aware, the Department Representative is asked to always refer such questions, problems and requests for advice to the Faculty Association office.

For similar reasons, if a Department Representative is approached by a colleague for advice and assistance on FTPC matters, they should refer the colleague to the Faculty Association office.

The following is a list of Department Representatives, by department, for the 2014-2015 academic year:

  • Anthropology and Archaeology – Naotaka Hayashi
  • Art – Rob Furr
  • Biochemistry & Molecular Biology  – Michael Walsh
  • Biological Sciences – Robert Edwards
  • Chemical & Petroleum Engineering – Hua Song
  • Chemistry – Masood Parvez
  • Civil Engineering – Angus Chu/Richard Wan (alternate)
  • Clinical Neurosciences – Minh Dang Nguyen
  • Community Health Sciences – Bonnie Lashewicz
  • Comparative Biology & Experimental Medicine – Jason Anderson
  • Computer Science – Reda Alhajj
  • Ecosystem & Public Health – Sabine Gilch
  • English – Michael Tavel Clarke
  • Environmental Design – Jason Johnson
  • French Italian & Spanish – Elizabeth Montes Garces
  • Geography – Wil Holden
  • Geomatics Engineering – Michael Barry
  • Haskayne School of Business – Robert Malach/Edmund Gee (alternate)
  • History – Patrick Brennan
  • Kinesiology – Tish Doyle-Baker
  • Law – Shaun Fluker
  • Libraries and Cultural Resources – Kimberley Clarke
  • Linguistics, Languages & Cultures – Akiko Sharp
  • Mathematics & Statistics – Berndt Brenken
  • Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering – Jeffrey Pieper
  • Nursing – Sylvia Loewen
  • Office of Diversity, Equity and Protected Disclosure – Shirley Voyna Wilson
  • Oncology – Rao Khan
  • Pathology & Laboratory Medicine – Martin Trotter
  • Philosophy – David Dick
  • Physiology & Pharmacology – James Fewell
  • Political Science – Maureen Hiebert
  • Psychiatry – Rajamannar Ramasubbu
  • Psychology – Kristin von Ranson
  • Radiology – Jeffrey Dunn
  • Sociology – Cora Voyageur
  • Student & Enrolment Services – Jeff Vander Werf
  • Taylor Institute for Teaching & Learning – Cheryl Jeffs
  • Vet Clinical & Diagnostic Science – Nigel Caulkett
  • Werklund School of Education – Kaela Jubas


The following departments have not notified the Association of a representative:

Anaesthesia, Cardiac Science, Cell Biology & Anatomy, Classics and Religion, Communication, Media & Film, Community Rehabilitation and Disability Studies, Critical Care Medicine, Economics, Electrical & Computer Engineering, Emergency Medicine, Family Medicine, Geoscience, Medical Genetics, Department of Medicine, Microbiology, Immunology and Infectious Diseases, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Paediatrics, Physics & Astronomy, Production Animal Health, School of Performing Arts, Social Work and Surgery.

Comments are closed.