Department Representatives 2012-2013

by Faculty Association | Filed under December 2012.

Each department (and in the case of non-departmentalized Faculties, each Faculty) has the opportunity to appoint an individual to be a Faculty Association Department Representative. The role of the Department Representative is as liaison between the Faculty Association Board of Directors and the department or Faculty.

In order to maintain effective communication, both from and to members, the Association has established regular Department Representative meetings. Through these meetings, discussion can take place on the current issues facing the Association, its members, and the University community.

The Association encourages Department Representatives to be diligent in gathering and relaying information in both directions. Department Representatives communicate their academic colleagues’ views to the Association, and reciprocally inform academic staff in their area of the Board of Directors’ priorities, positions and activities. The Department Representatives are encouraged to attend the scheduled meetings whenever possible.

After each meeting, Department Representatives are urged to provide a summary to their colleagues by email. To facilitate this, the Association produces a Bulletin which includes the main points discussed at the meeting. The Bulletins are also posted on the Faculty Association’s website. Department Representatives can of course provide and solicit feedback in whatever form best fits their area.

Academic staff are encouraged to send their comments or feedback to their Department Representative or to forward it directly to the Faculty Association office.  Department Representatives are asked throughout the year to gather input from their colleagues and provide it to the Association.

Department Representatives are often approached by members of their departments or units with questions or problems in relation to academic staff matters and asked for advice. Since answers to many such questions and problems have complexities, ramifications, and implications legal and otherwise of which the Department Representative may not be aware, the Department Representative is asked to always refer such questions, problems and requests for advice to the Faculty Association office.

For similar reasons, if a Department Representative is approached by a colleague for advice and assistance on FPC matters, they should refer the colleague to the Faculty Association office.

The following is a list of Department Representatives, by department, for the 2012-2013 academic year:

  • Anaesthesia – Gary Dobson
  • Anthropology – Sabrina Peric
  • Archaeology – Mary McDonald
  • Art – Clyde McConnell
  • Biochemistry & Molecular Biology – Randal Johnston
  • Biological Sciences – Robert Edwards
  • Cell Biology & Anatomy – Jerome Rattner
  • Chemical & Petroleum Engineering – Michael Foley
  • Chemistry – Masood Parvez
  • Civil Engineering – Angus Chu
  • Clinical Neurosciences – Zelma Kiss
  • Communication & Culture – Lisa Stowe
  • Community Health Sciences – Bonnie Lashewicz
  • Community Rehab Disability Study – Bonnie Lashewicz
  • Comparative Biology & Experimental Medicine – Jason Anderson
  • Computer Science – Majid Ghaderi Dehkordi
  • Critical Care Medicine – Brent Winston
  • Dance – Anna Mouat
  • Drama – Valerie Campbell
  • Economics – Mingshan Lu
  • Ecosystem & Public Health – Faizal Abdul Careem
  • Electrical & Computer Engineering – Michel Fattouche
  • English – Jason Wiens
  • Environmental Design – Denis Gadbois
  • Family Medicine – Kevin Hafez
  • French Italian & Spanish – Fresia Sanchez
  • Geography – Gwendolyn Blue
  • Geomatics Engineering – Michael Barry
  • Geoscience – Federico Krause
  • Germanic Slavic East Asian Studies*
  • Greek & Roman Studies – Noreen Humble
  • Haskayne School of Business – Robert Isaac
  • History – John Ferris
  • Kinesiology – Tish Doyle-Baker
  • Law – Jassmine Girgis
  • Libraries and Cultural Resources – Melanie Boyd
  • Linguistics – Karsten Koch
  • Mathematics & Statistics – Wenyuan Liao
  • Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering – David Rival
  • Medicine – Maria Bacchus
  • Microbiology, Immunology & Infectious Diseases – Raymond Tellier
  • Music – Kenneth Delong
  • Nursing – Sylvia Loewen
  • Oncology – Jose Eduardo Villarreal-Barajas
  • Paediatrics – Mark Anselmo
  • Philosophy – Reid Buchanan
  • Physiology & Pharmacology – Ebba Kurz
  • Political Science – Joshua Goldstein
  • Psychology – Giuseppe Iaria
  • Radiology – Jeffrey Dunn
  • Religious Studies – Tinu Ruparell
  • Social Work – Margaret Williams
  • Sociology – Amal Madibbo
  • Student & Enrolment Services – Jan Crook
  • Surgery – Gail Thornton
  • Vet Clinical & Diagnostic Science – Gordon Krebs


The following departments have not provided a representative to the Association:

  • Cardiac Science
  • Education
  • Medical Genetics
  • Obstetrics & Gynaecology
  • Pathology & Laboratory Med
  • Physics & Astronomy
  • Production Animal Health
  • Psychiatry
  • Teaching and Learning Centre


*The role of Department Representative in German, Slavic and East Asian Studies will be shared by individuals in the department for 2012-2013.


>> Financial Statements 2011-2012

<< (Re-) Introducing the Academic Women’s Association

Comments are closed.