Inspired Service Awards 2013

by Faculty Association | Filed under February 2013, President's Message.

– By Paul Rogers, Faculty Association President –

The Faculty Association is pleased to announce that it has chosen two outstanding recipients to receive the Faculty Association Inspired Service Awards for 2013.

These awards are designed to recognize the relationships between our academic community and the community-at-large and the important links between scholarship and service being created because of these relationships. This partnership between our greater community and the community on campus is vitally important to enhancing the quality of life for Albertans, the quality of teaching and research at the University, and the reach and reputation of our institution. This year’s recipients of the Inspired Service Awards continue the strong tradition of active engagement and outreach demonstrated by previous recipients.

The Community Service Award recipient is Professor Clem Martini from the Faculty of Arts, Department of Drama. The Community Service Award recognizes a member of the Faculty Association who has provided exceptional service to the community. Professor Martini has served as an instrumental volunteer with Wood’s Homes and has also been heavily involved in advocacy around mental health issues including service as a member on the Canadian Mental Health Commission. More on Professor Martini’s story can be found here.

The Recognition Award is given to someone who is not a member of the Faculty Association but has contributed to the success of academic staff. This year the Association recognizes Ruth Clark who has volunteered as a community representative on the Health Sciences Animal Care Committee for ten years. As the lay person on the committee (as per requirements of Tri-Council and the Canadian Council on Animal Care) Ms. Clark has read and critiqued over 350 active protocols. She has recently also joined the University Animal Welfare Committee which oversees animal welfare across campus. More on Ms. Clark’s story can be found here.

As always, the Awards Committee faced the difficult decision of picking a single person from the large pool of highly deserving nominees for each award. I would like to thank Association Board member Mary-Ellen Tyler (Environmental Design) for taking on the position of Awards Committee chairperson. I would also like to thank the rest of the committee for accepting this difficult but rewarding task: Tina Gabriele (Kinesiology), Ted Horbulyk (Economics), Allan Ingelson (Haskayne School of Business) and Maureen Wilson (Social Work).

I would like to take this opportunity to invite all academic staff members to attend the Awards celebration on March 19th, (click here for event details). This occasion has become one of the Association’s most anticipated events.

Please join us in celebrating the remarkable accomplishments and impacts of these award recipients.

>> Community Service Award Recipient 2013

<< Member Snapshot – Gender by Faculty

Comments are closed.