Recognition Award Recipient 2013

by Faculty Association | Filed under February 2013.

Ruth Clark

Community Member
Health Sciences Animal Health Care Committee/U of C Animal Welfare Committee

Ruth Clark has been a Community Member of the Health Sciences Animal Care Committee (HSACC) for the past ten years directly supporting the scholarly work of academic staff at the University of Calgary. Described as one of the Faculty of Medicine’s most important research committees, it reviews and approves all animal care and animal use for research and teaching. As an active member of the committee Ms. Clark has read and critiqued over 350 active protocols. Her work and insight is so well received that she has also recently been included on the University Animal Welfare Committee which oversees animal welfare across campus.

It is an expectation of the Tri-Council and the Canadian Council on Animal Care that every University Animal Care Committee have a lay representative. Each research protocol requires approval from the committee and Ms. Clark is described as a voice of reason, someone who takes this task seriously holding researchers to firm ethical standards ensuring investigators are treating animals humanely. In addition, Ms. Clark, in her volunteer role, has also assisted in the review of decisions to change animal protocols.

Ms. Ruth Clark is a Registered Nurse (retired) who holds a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the University of Toronto. In addition to her work for various organizations as a nurse in Ontario, she has also served as a non-denominational chaplain at hospitals in Calgary including the Rockyview and Foothills hospitals. She has been involved with a variety of volunteer organizations including the Environmental Health Committee of the York-Toronto Lung Association, Metropolitan Toronto Alcoholism Council, Street Haven at the Crossroads and the South Central District Nursing Committee of the Alberta Association of Registered Nurses.


>> Invitation: Inspired Service Awards 2013

<< Community Service Award Recipient 2013

Comments are closed.